University of Azad Jammu & Kashmir

1 of
Previous Next



It is a multi discipline and multi campus University.[4] The University of Azad Jammu and Kashmir is the biggest educational institution in Azad Jammu and Kashmir. It consists of four faculties i.e., faculty of sciences, faculty of arts, faculty of health sciences and faculty of engineering. [5]The more than 15,000 students are from different areas of Azad Kashmir, Punjab, Khaber Pakhtun Khawa and Gilgit Baltistan. The University of Azad Jammu and Kashmir has developed in both academic and administrative directions. During the regional 2005 earthquake, most of the buildings at the Muzaffarabad and Rawalakot campuses were destroyed. The new replacement campus financed by Saudi Arabia, known as King Abdullah campus covering than 1800 kanals (0.91 km2), was handed over to the University in October 2019. The old Chahella campus is also being updated and developed. The University also has one campus in the newly formed district of Hattian Bala, one campus in the Nelum Valley and a women’s campus in the Bagh district. The temporary city campus financed by the Turkish Government will move to the new King Abdullah Campus and the number of faculties and departments will also be increased. The University is producing graduates, MPhil scholars and PhD doctors. The University has an Institute of Kashmir Studies that provides education about history of State of Kashmir. The Institute of Geology is one of the oldest department of the University and one of the finest Institutions of Geology in Pakistan.

Faculty of Sciences
1.Department of Botany
2.Department of Zoology
3.Department of Computer Sciences and Information technology
4.Department of Biotechnology
5.Kashmir Institute of Geology
6.Department of Mathematics
7.Department of Statistics
8.Department of Physics
9.Department of Chemistry
10.Faculty of Arts
11.Department of Psychology
12.Department of Management Sciences
13.Department of Law
14.Department of Urdu Language
15.Department of Sociology and Rural Development
16.Department of Islamic Studies
17.Institute of Languages
18.Institute of Kashmir Studies
19.Faculty of Engineering
20.Department of Electrical Engineering
21.Department of Software Engineering
22.Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences
23.Department of Public Health Sciences
24.Department of Allied Health Sciences

Tags :


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. required fields are marked *

Success! Thanks for your comment. We appreciate your response.
You might have left one of the fields blank, or be posting too quickly